NHL playoff schedule 2023: Full & updated bracket, dates, times, TV channels for every series | Sporting News Canada (2024)

The Golden Knights are your 2023 Stanley Cup champions.

Vegas defeated Florida in five games of the 2023 Stanley Cup Final to win the franchise its first-ever championship.

It took the Golden Knights only six seasons to win the Stanley Cup, becoming the fastest NHL expansion team to ever win a title.

MORE:Watch the 2023 NHL playoffs on TNT withSling TV

The Sporting News has the full schedule for every conference final series of the 2023 NHL playoffs.

NHL playoff schedule 2023

Stanley Cup Final

(West) Vegas Golden Knights vs. (East) Florida Panthers

Golden Knights win 4-1

DateSiteTime (ET)TV/Result
Sat., June 3at VegasFINALGolden Knights 5, Panthers 2
Mon., June 5at VegasFINALGolden Knights 7, Panthers 2
Thurs., June 8at FloridaFINALPanthers 3, Golden Knights 2 (OT)
Sat., June 10at FloridaFINALGolden Knights 3, Panthers 2
Tues., June 13at VegasFINALGolden Knights 9, Panthers 3

Conference Finals

Eastern Conference: (M1) Carolina Hurricanes vs. (WC2) Florida Panthers

Panthers win 4-0

Western Conference: (P1) Vegas Golden Knights vs. (C2) Dallas Stars

Golden Knights wins 4-2

Second Round

Eastern Conference: (A2) Toronto Maple Leafs vs. (WC2) Florida Panthers

Panthers win 4-1

Eastern Conference: (M1) Carolina Hurricanes vs. (M2) New Jersey Devils

Hurricanes win 4-1

Western Conference: (C2) Dallas Stars vs. (WC1) Seattle Kraken

Stars win 4-3

Western Conference: (P1) Vegas Golden Knights vs. (P2) Edmonton Oilers

Golden Knights win 4-2

First Round

Eastern Conference: (A1) Boston Bruins vs. (WC2) Florida Panthers

Panthers win 4-3

Eastern Conference: (A2) Toronto Maple Leafs vs. (A3) Tampa Bay Lightning

Maple Leafs win 4-2

Eastern Conference: (M1) Carolina Hurricanes vs. (WC1) New York Islanders

Hurricanes win 4-2

Eastern Conference: (M2) New Jersey Devils vs. (M3) New York Rangers

Devils win 4-3

Western Conference: (C1) Colorado Avalanche vs. (WC1) Seattle Kraken

Kraken win 4-3

Western Conference: (C2) Dallas Stars vs. (C3) Minnesota Wild

Stars win 4-2

Western Conference: (P1) Vegas Golden Knights vs. (WC2) Winnipeg Jets

Golden Knights win 4-1

Western Conference: (P2) Edmonton Oilers vs. (P3) Los Angeles Kings

Oilers win 4-2

How to watch the 2023 NHL playoffs

  • TV channel (U.S.): ESPN, ABC, TNT, TBS
  • TV channel (Canada): Sportsnet, CBC, TVAS
  • Live stream (U.S.): ESPN+, SlingTV, Fubo
  • Live stream (Canada): SN NOW, CBC Gem

The NHL playoffs will be split in the United States between the ESPN family of networks and Turners. The two media corporations are in the second year of their seven-year contracts with the league.

In the first round, Saturday night games will air on ABC. Other first-round contests will air on ESPN and TNT's other channels, such as ESPN2, ESPNU, ESPNews, TBS or TruTV.

ESPN and TNT are splitting the second-round series, as well as the conference final. Since ESPN aired the Stanley Cup Final last year, it is TNT's turn, the first time the network will broadcast hockey's championship series.

Fans in the United States looking to stream the NHL playoffs have options. Games on ESPN's platforms can be streamed through ESPN+ or through Fubo, while those on TNT can be streamed through the TNT app and SlingTV.

In Canada, all the playoff games will be aired on Sportsnet and CBC. TVA Sports will also air for the French-speaking audience.

For the Canadian audience, games on Sportsnet are available to stream on SN NOW. Any contests on CBC can be streamed through CBC Gem.

What is the format of the 2023 NHL playoffs?

The Stanley Cup playoffs consist of four rounds throughout the entire postseason — first round, second round, conference finals and Stanley Cup Final.

In the first round, the top team in the conference plays the second wild-card team. The other division winner takes on the first wild-card team. The No. 2 team from a division plays the No. 3 team from the same division.

After that, the teams do not get reseeded in the second round. Rather, the series winner with the No. 2 and No. 3 teams for a division plays the victor of the series with their division winner playing the wild-card team.

For example, for this postseason, the Bruins, Maple Leafs and Lightning placed first through third in the Atlantic, in that order. So the Bruins face a wild-card team and the Maple Leafs and Lightning play each other. The winner of those two series play against each other in the second round, regardless if the wild-card team is not from the Atlantic.

After the second round, the two teams remaining in each conference play in the conference finals. The Eastern Conference winner receives the Prince of Wales Trophy, while the Western Conference victor is awarded the Clarence S. Campbell Trophy.

Finally, the champions from each conference meet in the Stanley Cup Final to determine the season champion.

NHL playoff schedule 2023: Full & updated bracket, dates, times, TV channels for every series | Sporting News Canada (2024)


Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Madonna Wisozk

Last Updated:

Views: 6481

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (48 voted)

Reviews: 95% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Madonna Wisozk

Birthday: 2001-02-23

Address: 656 Gerhold Summit, Sidneyberg, FL 78179-2512

Phone: +6742282696652

Job: Customer Banking Liaison

Hobby: Flower arranging, Yo-yoing, Tai chi, Rowing, Macrame, Urban exploration, Knife making

Introduction: My name is Madonna Wisozk, I am a attractive, healthy, thoughtful, faithful, open, vivacious, zany person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.